UAE eases restrictions on arrivals from Indian subcontinent

Select travellers can enter the UAE from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Uganda and Nigeria from 5 August

Select UAE residents travelling from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Uganda and Nigeria will be allowed entry.

Vaccinated UAE Residents
The General Authority of Civil Aviation and the National Authority for Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management has announced that residency permit holders who are fully vaccinated, with a vaccination certificate approved by the official authorities in the country, can re-enter the UAE from 5 August 2021. 

Teachers, Doctors and Government Workers
Workers in federal and local government agencies and medical personnel, including doctors, nurses and technicians working will also be allowed to enter from 5 August, as will those who teach in the UAE’s universities, colleges, schools and institutes. Both vaccinated and non-vaccinated individuals within these categories can be granted entry with the required health certificates.

Patients, Students and Humanitarians
In addition, students and humanitarian workers who hold valid residency visas and workers in federal and local government agencies, and patients undergoing medical treatment will also be excluded from the travel ban, whether they’re vaccinated or not, as long as they can supply the appropriate paperwork.


Travellers within these categories are required to submit a request on the website of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship to obtain the necessary approvals, in addition to vaccination certificates from the concerned authorities.

Travellers in these groups must also submit a PCR test taken within 48 hours from the date of departure with accredited laboratories; certificates must bear a QR Code. A further test must be undertaken before boarding the plane and a final PCR test will be carried out on arrival in the UAE.

Share article

View Comments

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.